Rapido 919004 W & U Bogie Tramcar Third Class BR Brown No E60462 - OO Gauge
The Wisbech & Upwell Tramway was certainly unusual, including its coaches. Prior to 1884, when the line opened to Upwell, six four-wheel coaches were used. After 1884, however, the line added two distinctive bogie coaches. These two vehicles were built by the Great Eastern Railway under order A17. Composite No. 7 was built to Diagram 602 and Second No. 8 to Dia. 603. Both vehicles were outwardly similar, measuring just over 37ft long (over buffers), with a maximum height of 10ft 2in over roof not including lamps. Number 7 held 10 First Class passengers and 22 Second, whilst No. 8 had a capacity of 34 Second (later Third) Class passengers. However, details like panelling and roof layout were unique to each vehicle. They remained almost unchanged during their working life, apart from modified footsteps. After passenger services on the W&U ceased on December 31st, 1927, both were transferred to the Kelvedon and Tollesbury Light Railway in Essex, working until line closure in 1951 and retaining their unusual longitudinal seating. Stardom then beckoned for No. 8. It starred in the Ealing comedy The Titfield Thunderbolt – complete with bar! It was earmarked for preservation by the British Transport Commission and even restored into GER livery. Sadly, due to misunderstanding, it was scrapped on March 9th 1957. Number 7 was sold and became an onion store before being rescued for preservation. Acquired by the M&GN Society in 2002, it has been fully restored - complete with a Titfield-style bar.
Highly detailed accurate body exterior with details unique to each carriage and veranda ends • Fully removable roof • Fully visible internal details including seating • Accurate decoration - both inside and out • Complete underbody detailing with many separate parts • Available individully in LNER and BR liveries as well as No.7 in preserved condition • NEM coupler pockets